Skip to content

Keuka College News

Stork Award to George and Carolyn Schaeffer

Penn Yan residents George and Carolyn Schaeffer will receive the 2013 Donald and Corinne Stork Award for Community Service Tuesday, Oct. 15.

The award will be presented at a noon luncheon in the Geiser Refectory at Keuka College.

The Stork Award was established by Keuka College to recognize outstanding individuals who exemplify the College’s commitment of valuing individual initiative for the common good. The award was named after the first recipients of the award, Penn Yan residents Corinne Stork and the late Donald Stork, in 1991.

The Schaeffers have been involved in their community—be it on Long Island, in Massachusetts, or Penn Yan—for some 50 years, and children have been at the heart of their commitment to social responsibility.

Since moving to Penn Yan 12 years ago, a particular focus of the Schaeffers is the Weekend Backpack Program, part of Milly’s Pantry. The Weekend Backpack Program addresses food insecurity among school-age Yates County children, and helps distribute educational materials and information about other community programs that help families become self-sufficient.

Carolyn sits on Milly’s Pantry Board of Directors, where she volunteers at its market, supervises the building maintenance, and co-chairs the Milly’s Pantry School Supplies Program. She tutors elementary school students, serves as chair of the Yates County Democratic Committee, and volunteers at the Branchport Elementary School and Head Start, which is “a natural continuation of my career as a Montessori upper elementary school teacher,” she said.

The Schaeffers are active in both the Food for the Needy and Christmas for the Needy organizations. George started as a box-mover and soon became treasurer of both organizations, positions he held until 2012. The former president of the Milly’s Pantry Board of Directors, George currently serves as volunteer executive director and is a member of the general building maintenance team.

The Schaeffers also teach social ballroom dance lessons for free through the Penn Yan Adult Education Program.

The Schaeffers began their commitment to community service in the 1960s when Carolyn tutored the children of migrant workers on Long Island and volunteered in the anti-poverty Upward Bound Program for at-risk youth. In the 1970s, George and Carolyn opened their home as a safe haven for runaway teens as part of the New York State Sanctuary Program.

Carolyn served as co-chair and youth director of the League of Women’s Voters and sat on the Smithtown Youth Board until their move to Massachusetts, where George became a youth soccer coach and referee, as well as an organizer of a local teen group and tutor for middle school and GED students.

At the Massachusetts Council for Children, Carolyn organized teen suicide prevention programs in local high schools and was a hot-line volunteer. A software engineer, George taught computer skills to first-sixth graders at the Shrewsbury Montessori School. They also began an after-school chess club which went on to win state-level team tournaments.

Tickets for the luncheon are $10. Seating is limited, so advanced reservations are advised. Make checks payable to Keuka College and mail to: Office of Alumni and Family Relations, Keuka College, Keuka Park, N.Y. 14478, or reservations may be made online at The reservation deadline is Wednesday, Oct. 9.

For more information call (315) 279-5238 or email [email protected].

In addition to the Storks, other recipients of the award include:

1992: M. Camille Bloomquist, Keuka Park.

1993: Richard and the late Ruth Brow, Dresden.

1994: The late Bruce Hansen, Penn Yan.

1995: Taylor H. III and Linda Fitch (Keuka College Class of 1969), Bluff Point.

1996: Evelyn and the late Norman Worth, Penn Yan.

1997: The late Cheryl Turner (Keuka College Class of 1963 and 2004), Keuka Park.

1998: The late Thelma and Robert Flynn, Penn Yan.

1999: Gene F. Pierce, Dundee.

2000: The late Edith Calvin (Keuka College Class of 1934), Penn Yan.

2001: The late Edwin H. Worden, Penn Yan.

2002: Doug and Penne Marchionda, Penn Yan.

2003: The late Chester Culver, Bluff Point.

2004: The late Lucia Wheeler, Penn Yan.

2005: William and Delores Sutherland, Penn Yan.

2006: The late William Crain, Keuka Park.

2007: Keuka Comfort Care Home, Penn Yan.

2008: Les and Wanda Wood, Penn Yan.

2009: Helen Stewart, Penn Yan.

2010: Keuka College President Emeritus Joseph G. Burke and Professor Emerita Diane Burke, Keuka Park.

2011: Jim and Gloria Long, Penn Yan.

2012: Harry Swarthout, Branchport.

One Response to Stork Award to George and Carolyn Schaeffer

  1. Bonna McMahon says:

    This couple definitely deserves this award. They do so very much for this community!!

Leave a Reply

All comments are governed by the Community Standards.
Want your photo next to your name?