Skip to content

Posts Tagged ‘andy hogan’

In it for the “Long” Haul

Editor’s Note: This is the second in a series of profiles of 2014 Student Employee of the Year nominees. The winner will be announced at a luncheon Thursday, April 17.

Freshman Brianna Long began working as an Information Technology (IT) Services office assistant at the beginning of the academic year.

In that time, the psychology major from Arkport has made her mark on the office and impressed her supervisor, Assistant Director of Technology and Media Services Andy Hogan.

“Brianna is extremely well organized and detail-oriented in her approach to tasks,” said Hogan, who nominated Long for the Student Employee of the Year award. “She masters assignments and routine activities quickly due to her keen intellect, and carries them out in a precise and error-free manner.”

As she continued to demonstrate her organization and leadership skills, Hogan said Long was given more challenging tasks and has become one of the primary “go to” individuals within IT Services.

“Time-critical and mission-critical tasks tend to find their way to Brianna’s plate as she has developed a positive reputation within IT Services for completing assignments on time and in a professional manner,” said Hogan. “Her strong performance in this area is one of the determining factors as to which tasks and assignments for which she is responsible. Brianna’s initiative and willingness to go beyond what is expected for an ITS office assistant has allowed her to be exposed to more responsibility and greater challenges.”

Hogan had such confidence in Long that he assigned her as project manager for developing an inventory process that would incorporate greater quantities of IT supplies and consumables being maintained onsite.

“This concept, referred to as the ‘ITS Store,’ allowed the turnaround time for delivering a wide array of products—ranging from computers to various adapters—to be deployed to IT Services’ clients much quicker than in the past,” said Hogan. “The ability to consistently fulfill requests of this nature much more agilely has allowed us to improve its Service Level Agreements (SLAs). The project was well documented, managed, and completed on time.”

According to Hogan, Long takes great pride in her work, and attention to detail “far surpasses” what is expected for any work study student.

“Brianna works alongside the IT Services staff as if she had just as much invested as they do,” said Hogan. “She has demonstrated that she is willing to put in the extra effort up front to ensure a positive conclusion to the task at hand. She has a unique blend of technical aptitude, dedication, common sense and motivation that allows her to excel in her role as an IT Services office assistant.”

Keuka College Employees Honored at Community Day

President Díaz-Herrera presented five-year service awards to Katie Marcella (second from left), Wendy Gaylord, and Penny Webber.

Seventeen faculty and staff members were recognized for their service and dedication to Keuka College at Community Day Jan. 28.

Five-year service awards were presented to: Wendy Gaylord, dean for China programs; Penny Webber, office manager for Academic Success at Keuka (ASK); Katie Marcella, head women’s basketball coach; Vicki O’Connor, assistant professor of social work; and Dennis Hoins, general manager of facilities.

President Díaz-Herrera presented a 10-year service award to Pam Jennings.

Ten-year service awards were presented to: Linda Park, librarian and director of Lightner Library; Pam Jennings, academic skills counselor for ASK; and Jan Enos, coordinator of international student services.

A 20-year service award was presented to Jackie Robinson, secretary of the Division of Basic and Applied Social Sciences.

President Jorge Díaz-Herrera and merit award recipients Tim Sellers (second from left), John Boccacino, and Andy Hogan.

Merit awards were presented to John Boccacino, sports information director; Eva Robbins, director of student activities; Tim Sellers, associate vice president for academic programs; Deb Gates, associate professor of nursing and chair, Division of Nursing; Carol Grover, controller; and Andy Hogan, manager of information and classroom technology.

President Díaz-Herrera and Jason Paige.

President Díaz-Herrera and Anne Killen.

Presidential Awards for Sustained Outstanding Achievement were presented to Anne Killen, associate vice president of Center for Professional Studies; and Jason Paige, head men’s lacrosse coach.

Keuka College Employees Honored at Community Day

Keuka College President Jorge Díaz-Herrera (r) presents 10-year service awards to Jerry Hiller, Sandy Miller, BJ Jayne, and Andy Biegel.

Twenty-seven faculty and staff members were recognized for their service and dedication to Keuka College at Community Day Jan. 29.

Five-year service awards were presented to: Laura Alfieris, assistant director of admissions, Accelerated Studies for Adults Program (ASAP); Matthew Lafler, grounds; Sue Morse, housekeeping; Sandra Teague, administrative assistant for the Division of Occupational Therapy; Carolyn Teter, assistant professor of occupational therapy; and Patricia White, assistant director of admissions, ASAP.

Ten-year service awards were presented to: Andrew Beigel, professor of graduate education; Jerry Hiller, vice president for finance and administration; Billy Jo Jayne, director of development; and Sandra Miller, instructional resource coordinator in the Wertman Office of Distance Learning, ASAP.

Fifteen-year service awards were presented to: Monica Maddox, transfer student admissions counselor; and Patricia Strong, student accounts representative.

A 20-year service award was presented to: Phyllis Bailey, housekeeping.

President Jorge-Díaz-Herrera presents merit awards to members of IT Services.

Merit awards were presented to Eric Detar, chaplain; Jen Mealey, assistant professor of social work; and Kim Morgan, director of admissions, ASAP, as well as members of the Office of Information Technology Services staff: Andy Hogan, manager of information systems and classroom technology; Ed Wallace, manager of information systems; Vickie Tobias, database administrator; Brad Turner, technical support technician; Casey Kendall, senior systems administrator; Rick Edelmann, senior technical support technician; Judy Gilmartin, administrative programmer; Diana Wetmore, administrative assistant; Justin Krog, program developer; Josh Middleton, senior technical support technician; and Josh Ficks, project manager/business analyst.

President Díaz-Herrera presents a Presidental Award for Sustained Outstanding Service to Lisa Starkey-Wood.

A Presidential Award for Sustained Outstanding Achievement was presented to Lisa Starkey-Wood, assistant director of admissions.

Initiative and Ingenuity Two of Sherwood’s Traits

By Nikki Treleaven ’11

Editor’s Note: This is the 10th of 10 profiles of nominees for the 2011 Student Employee of the Year award that will be presented at the Annual Student Employment Awards Luncheon April 11.

Chelsea Sherwood

Initiative and ingenuity are just two of the characteristics of Chelsea Sherwood, according to Andrew Hogan, manager of information and classroom technology.

Sherwood is a sophomore ASL-English Interpreting major from Camden, N.Y., and an office assistant in Information Technology Services (ITS). She is responsible for meeting the department’s day-to-day needs, such as answering phones, filing, data entry, running errands, and photocopying. (more…)